Working Versus Unemployment

When I was younger I did not realize how everything that happens actually does affect everyone. An example being unemployment benefits, tax evasion, welfare and Companies and CEO’s that take the tax payers money in the form of a bale out. The result is that the working class pays more taxes in the tune of over 20% of our earnings and more depending on how much money we make. While the people that pay no taxes at all benefit.

I am 56 years old and I have never drawn unemployment. Now there were times that I could have. I have lost jobs before where I would have been eligible for unemployment. Yet I always chose to find another job rather than draw unemployment.There were several things that I did ahead of time in order to be a success where I would not need to draw unemployment.

I started as a factory worker and when I realized that I did not want to make minimum wage the rest of my life I made the decision to go to college. I started out as an education major but I kept hearing there were no jobs for teachers at that time. It was the late 1970′s and early 1980′s. So I changed my major and went into nursing instead. I knew, because my mother was a nurse, that I could always find a job as a nurse and I always did.

 I researched where the jobs were and what I could choose as a career to assure myself I would always be able to find a job. I chose that career. Since then after working eighteen years as a nurse and my children had all grown. I went into a fun career as a flight attendant and that is what I have been doing for the last fourteen years.

My point is chose a major or an education based on being able to find a job. Be wise. Be employable.

Leave a Reply

