When Are We Going to Stand Up and Take Our Economic Future Back

We say we want the American Dream but we keep giving all our work to China. When are we going to take America back and become the super power we once were? We can not be a society that expects everything to be given to us. We have to be hungry enough to work hard and smart to be successes and make our own way in the world.

When I went to college to be a teacher I realized that there were no jobs at the time for teachers so I changed my major to nursing. I went to school with purpose in a field where I knew I would be able to find a job when I graduated. When I graduated as a nurse I was able to get hired at the first job I interviewed for the same day that I applied. I worked as a nurse actively for eighteen years and I could always find another job the same day that one job  would end. I never had to draw unemployment because there were always numerous job openings in the field I chose.

That is how I want you to approach your education and career choices. Research and find where the jobs are numerous and then go to school and get the training in that field where you know you will be able to find a job. The best example right now is Vocational Education.

Right now there are more jobs then there are applicants in areas like construction (especially in New York and New Jersey after Hurricane Sandy), in welding and as a machinist, in air conditioning and heating, as a auto or aircraft mechanic, and other such fields. I hear business men tell me everyday when they are flying that they can not find enough workers to fill the positions in the fields listed above to do the job.

Why is there an unemployment rate? Get the training needed to get the jobs available and do not be left behind! Have a rich financial future!

Julia McCoy Pavlicek

Leave a Reply

